President Announces Nomination to the Commodity Futures Trading Commission

By Dave Schryver posted 05-18-2017 13:11

The White House has announced its intent to nominate Brian D. Quintenz to serve as a Commissioner on the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC). Mr. Quintenz would be nominated to complete the remainder of a five-year term which expires on April 13, 2020. Currently, in a situation similar to that at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, there are only two commissioners, Acting Chairman J. Christopher Giancarlo and Commissioner Sharon Y. Bowen, which prevents the CFTC from having a quorum.

Mr. Quintenz is the founder of Saeculum Capital Management LLC, a Washington, D.C., firm that oversees a commodity pool hedge fund. He also previously served as a senior associate at the hedge fund firm Hill-Townsend Capital LLC. Prior to that, he worked on Capitol Hill as an aide to former Representative Deborah Pryce (R-Ohio).

APGA has worked closely with the CFTC on issues related to natural gas markets as well as on the development of regulations that came out of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. These issues included the development of aggregate position limits, margin requirements and market transparency. The next step in the confirmation process will be a hearing in the Senate Agriculture Committee. For questions on this article, please contact Dave Schryver of APGA staff by phone at 202-464-2742 or by email at